Book Lists

Caldecott Medal Winner 2020

  • The Undefeated by Kwame Alexander

Caldecott Honor Books 2020

  • Bear Came Along by Richard T. Morris
  • Double Bass Blues by Andrea J. Loney
  • Going Down Home With Daddy by Kelly Starling Lyons


Newbery Medal Winner 2020

  • New Kid by Jerry Kraft

Newbery Honor Books 2020

  • The Undefeated by Kwame Alexander
  • Scary Stories for Young Foxes by Christian McKay Heidicker
  • Other Words for Home by Jasmine Warga
  • Genesis Begins Again by Alicia D. Williams



The Pacific Northwest Library Association’s Young Reader’s Choice Awards was established by a Seattle bookseller in 1940. Fourth through twelfth graders in the Pacific Northwest are eligible to vote.

The list of nominated titles is divided into three divisions: Grades 4-6, Grades 7-9, and Grades 10-12. St. Mary Magdalen participates in the first two divisions.

Students are encouraged to read at least two books in their division by March. Voting can be submitted before April 15. The winning title will be named sometime in May.

Winners for 2020!

Grades 4-6 Refugee by Alan Gratz

Grades 7-9 Insignificant Events in the Life of a Cactus by Dusti Bowling



The Sasquatch Reading Award is sponsored by the Washington Library Media Association. It was started in 1998 and was designed as an award that would reach readers in grades 3-6.

Each year a list of twelve nominated titles is published. Students read at least two of the selected titles, and then they may vote on the one they liked best. Votes need to be submitted by April 1. The winning title will be announced in May. Students, teachers, and librarians can also nominate titles. The nominated titles must include an explanation of why it should be selected.

Winner for 2020!

Real Friends by Shannon Hale and LeUyen Pham



The Washington Children’s Choice Picture Book Award is sponsored by the Washington Library Media Association. It is a list of twenty books in picture book format, both fiction and non-fiction, which are considered to be good read-alouds for K-3.

Students may have the books read to them, or they may read them on their own. Votes for their favorite title need to be submitted by April 1.

Winner for 2020!

Can I Be Your Dog? by Troy Cummings